top of page
Search
  • Student Blog

10.2018 - Amy, D2 Class of 2021

How I Manage My Week as a Dental Student



Friday:

This will sound unconventional, but I want to start with Friday. This is my DO-NOTHING DAY. After a whole week of class and studying, by the time Friday hits, I need to just unwind and take a break from school. On Fridays, I like to just watch tv, enjoy a glass of wine with my dinner, and cuddle with my two cats. =)


Saturday and Sunday:

Now that I have had a mental break from school (and stress), I feel re-energized to get back to work. I reserve both Saturday and Sunday as catch-up days, whether it’s lab work or studying. These are also great days to put in volunteer time! I am much more likely to sign up for organization events if it’s on the weekend.


Also, I do like to call my momma on Sundays since we are both off at this time. =) It’s so easy to get lost with school and forget to call home, I try to make it a priority because it also helps to lower my stress!


Sunday is also to prepare for the coming week. I buy groceries and cook on Sundays. I don’t necessarily meal prep; I just cook a large meal that will last me a few days. Also, I look ahead to see what classes are scheduled and make goals of tasks to do each day. I keep this schedule set as a homepage on my phone so that I am forced to look at it every day, it helps to keep me on track! As an example, here is a preview of my upcoming week..


Monday:

In general, my thought process is if I start my week off being productive, my productivity will be consistent the rest of the week as well.

  • Definitely up by 6:30am; if I work out, I wake at 5:30am

  • 6am – Work out (I did NOT work out today nor was I on time for 8am class lol; today was just one of those days…)

  • But figure out if you like morning work outs or evening after class.

  • Personally, I like mornings because after an 8am-5pm class day (sometimes longer), I’m going to the couch first thing.

  • Class 8am-5pm (Oral Radiology Quiz @ 1pm!!)

  • 5:30pm – Eat

  • 6:00pm-?? – STUDY FOR TUESDAY’S PHARM QUIZ!! I really fell behind studying this week, and we had our class Halloween party on Saturday, so I spent Friday and Saturday making my costume and preparing for the party (I made cocktail weenies!). So yea, today is all about Pharmacology. Eek.

Tuesday:

  • 6am – No work out because I will be reviewing for quiz..

  • Class 8am-5pm (Pharm Quiz @ 8am!)

  • 5:30pm-?? – LAB CATCH UP DAY!! I didn’t have a productive weekend (Sunday inadvertently became my do-nothing day lol), and since we have lab classes Wednesday-Friday, so I need to survey and mount my cast ready for Removable Partial Dentures class. It sounds easy but I’m not great with mounting and it never happens on the first try…

  • ?? – Eat

Wednesday:

  • 6am – Work out

  • Class 8am-5pm

  • 5:30pm – Eat

  • 6pm – PHARM EXAM IS NEXT MONDAY, so back to Pharm it is… Plus tack on whatever lab work is assigned in class today. Also need to put together a picture portfolio for ARCT that is due Friday.

Thursday:

  • 6am – Work out

  • Class 8am-5pm

  • 5:30pm – Eat

  • 6pm – More Pharm… Plus any new assignments in lab. Proof the portfolio and ensure it is ready for print and submission tomorrow.

  • Study break – I’m usually out of the family-sized meal that I cooked on Sunday, so Thursdays are usually my cook days to last me until Sunday.


Friday:

  • … Now do you see why this is my do-nothing day?

  • But jk.. I’m behind. So I will be studying Pharm. My goal is to have information to be near solidified so that I can start doing practice questions over the weekend.

  • Oh, I also have 6pm-10pm Meharry ASDA/SNDA Mentorship Meet and Greet.


Lather, rinse, repeat.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page